The constitution of the College of Communication, Architecture + The Arts (CARTA) reflects a system of governance that is democratic, collegial, participatory, and representative of the diverse backgrounds, disciplines, and opinions of its faculty and constituent academic units. These units are responsible for the day-to-day implementation of CARTA’s mission.

The relationship between faculty who serve as administrators and faculty who primarily teach and/or engage in creative activities and research is one of mutual respect, trust, consultation, and cooperation. This relationship fosters and encourages the exchange of ideas for the purpose of advancing CARTA’s mission, vision, and goals without fear of reprisal for differences of opinion.

 

CARTA Faculty GovernanceResources

CARTA REPRESENTATIVES AND CARTA COMMITTEES 2015-2016 (AS OF JANUARY 1, 2016)

Faculty Senate Positions:

Jaime Canaves canavesj@fiu.edu, elected 2015

Gray Read readg@fiu.edu, alternate for Shahin Vassigh

Kathleen Wilson kwilson@fiu.edu, elected 2014

Nurhayat Bilge nurhayat.bilge@fiu.edu, alternate for Phillip Church

Faculty Senate Alternates:

Lynne Webb lwebb@fiu.edu

Academic Policies and Personnel:

Barbara Watts wattsb@fiu.edu, elected 2014

Graduate Council:

David Rifkind drifkind@fiu.edu, elected 2015

Honorary Degree and Awards Committee:

Catherine Benedict clbenedi@fiu.edu, elected 2014

Technology Committee:

Malik Benjamin benjamin@fiu.edu, elected 2014

Undergraduate Council:

Karen Fuller fullerk@fiu.edu, elected 2015

Library Committee:

Tony Galaska agalaska@fiu.edu, elected 2014

Ad-hoc Committee on Continuing Service Review:

Lynne Webb lwebb@fiu.edu, elected 2015

 

CARTA COMMITTEES AND REPRESENTATIVES

CARTA Steering Committee:

Chair:                               Gray Read readg@fiu.edu, elected 2015

Architecture:                   Eric Goldemberg goldembe@fiu.edu, elected 2014

Art & Art History:            To be decided

Communication Arts:     Nurhayat Bilge nurhayat.bilge@fiu.edu, elected 2015

Interior Arch:                  Philip Abbott pabbott@fiu.edu, elected 2013

Landscape Arch:            Ebru Ozer ebru.ozer@fiu.edu, elected 2013

Music:                             Mesut Ozgen mozgen@fiu.edu, elected 2015

Theater:                          Wayne Robinson robinson@fiu.edu, elected 2014

 

CARTA Curriculum Committee:

Architecture:                  Eric Peterson petersoe@fiu.edu, elected 2014

Art & Art History:           Daniel Guernsey guernsey@fiu.edu, elected 2015

Communication Arts:    Nathalie Desrayaud Nathalie.Desrayaud@fiu.edu

Interior Arch:                 Janine King jking@fiu.edu

Landscape Arch:           Ebru Ozer ebru.ozer@fiu.edu

Music:                            Karen Fuller fullerk@fiu.edu, elected 2015

Theater:                         Rebecca Covey rebecca.covey@fiu.edu

 

CARTA T&P Committee:

Architecture:                  Jaime Canaves canavesj@fiu.edu, elected 2015

Art & Art History:           Carol Damian damianc@fiu.edu

Communication Arts:    Lynne Webb lwebb@fiu.edu

Interior Arch:                 Janine King jking@fiu.edu

Landscape Arch:           Juan Bueno buenoj@fiu.edu

Music:                            Kathleen Wilson kwilson@fiu.edu, elected 2015

Theater:                         Lesley-Ann Timlick timlickl@fiu.edu

 

CARTA Awards Committee – Ad hoc:

Established in 2015 to administer the CARTA Faculty Awards process, review applicants, and select winners.

Architecture:                   Alfredo Andia andiaa@fiu.edu

Art & Art History:            Pip Brant brantp@fiu.edu

Communication Arts:    Daniel Blaeuer daniel.blaeuer@fiu.edu

Interior Arch:                  To be decided

Landscape Arch:            Juan Bueno jabueno@fiu.edu

Music:                             To be decided

Theater:                          Michael Yawney michael.yawney@fiu.edu

CARTA Constitution and By Laws Documents

CARTA Constitution

CARTA By Laws


CARTA Assembly Meetings

April 28, 2015 – Minutes

December 11, 2014 – Minutes

April 24, 2014 – Minutes

December 12, 2013 – Minutes

November 8, 2013 – Minutes

Spring 2012 – Minutes

Fall 2011 – Minutes

 

CARTA Steering Committee Meetings

March 2, 2012 – Minutes

February 17, 2012 – Minutes

January 13, 2012 – Minutes

December 2, 2011 – Minutes

November 18, 2011 –Minutes

November 4, 2011 – Minutes

October 21, 2011 – Minutes

October 7, 2011 – Minutes

September 16, 2011 – Minutes