College of Communication, Architecture + The Arts
Modesto A. Maidique Campus
News
Paul L. Cejas School of Architecture Building
11200 SW 8th Street Miami, Florida 33199
PH: 305-348-7500 | Fx: 305-348-6717
E-Mail: carta@fiu.edu

College Assembly

Home/Faculty & Staff/College Assembly
College Assembly 2017-04-05T13:27:14+00:00

The constitution of the College of Communication, Architecture + The Arts (CARTA) reflects a system of governance that is democratic, collegial, participatory, and representative of the diverse backgrounds, disciplines, and opinions of its faculty and constituent academic units. These units are responsible for the day-to-day implementation of CARTA’s mission.

The relationship between faculty who serve as administrators and faculty who primarily teach and/or engage in creative activities and research is one of mutual respect, trust, consultation, and cooperation. This relationship fosters and encourages the exchange of ideas for the purpose of advancing CARTA’s mission, vision, and goals without fear of reprisal for differences of opinion.

CARTA Constitution and T&P Guidelines

CARTA Faculty Senators and Committee Representatives

(Terms are 2 years unless noted)

CARTA Faculty Senators:

Kathleen Wilson, Music, kwilson@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Jaime Canaves, Architecture, canavesj@fiu.edu, elected 2015

Neil Reisner, Journalism, reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2016 for one year

Elizabeth Marsh, Communication, marshe@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Phillip Church, Theatre, church@fiu.edu, elected 2016 as alternate

Alternates:

Susan Jacobson, Communication, susan.jacobson@fiu.edu,

Faculty Senate Standing Committees:

Academic Policies and Personnel Committee

Fred Blevens, Journalism, blevensf@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Graduate Council  

Fred Blevens, Journalism, blevensf@fiu.edu, elected 2016 for 1 year.

Curriculum Committee

Fred Blevens, Journalism, blevensf@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Honorary Degree and Awards Committee

Barbara Watts, Art and Art History, wattsb@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Technology Committee  

Malik Benjamin, Architecture and Michael Sheerin, Communication, Benjamin@fiu.edu, sheerinm@fiu.edu,  elected 2016 as a team for 1 year

Undergraduate Council

Karen Fuller, Music, fullerk@fiu.edu, elected 2016 for 1 year

Library Committee

Anthony Galaska, Theatre, agalaska@fiu.edu, elected 2016

CARTA Faculty Senators:

Kathleen Wilson, Music, kwilson@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Jaime Ousley  elected 2017, lousley@fiu.edu, elected 2017

Neil Reisner, Journalism, reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2017

Elizabeth Marsh, Communication, marshe@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Phillip Church, Theatre, church@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Alternates:

Marcia Littley, Music, ariasm@fiu.edu,  elected 2017, 1-year term

Susan Jacobson, Communication, susan.jacobson@fiu.edu, elected 2017, 1-year term

Faculty Senate Standing Committees:

Academic Policies and Personnel Committee

Fred Blevens, Journalism, blevensf@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Graduate Council 

Fred Blevens, Journalism, blevensf@fiu.edu, elected 2017 for 1 year.

Curriculum Committee

Fred Blevens, Journalism, blevensf@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Honorary Degree and Awards Committee

Barbara Watts, Art and Art History, wattsb@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Technology Committee 

Malik Benjamin, Architecture and Michael Sheerin, Communication, Benjamin@fiu.edu, sheerinm@fiu.edu,  elected 2017 as a team

Undergraduate Council

Robert (Ted) Gutsche, rgutsche@fiu.edu, elected 2017

Library Committee

Anthony Galaska, Theatre, agalaska@fiu.edu, elected 2016