College of Communication, Architecture + The Arts
Modesto A. Maidique Campus
News
Paul L. Cejas School of Architecture Building
11200 SW 8th Street Miami, Florida 33199
PH: 305-348-7500 | Fx: 305-348-6717
E-Mail: carta@fiu.edu

College Assembly

//College Assembly
College Assembly 2017-11-16T14:11:16+00:00

The constitution of the College of Communication, Architecture + The Arts (CARTA) reflects a system of governance that is democratic, collegial, participatory, and representative of the diverse backgrounds, disciplines, and opinions of its faculty and constituent academic units. These units are responsible for the day-to-day implementation of CARTA’s mission.

The relationship between faculty who serve as administrators and faculty who primarily teach and/or engage in creative activities and research is one of mutual respect, trust, consultation, and cooperation. This relationship fosters and encourages the exchange of ideas for the purpose of advancing CARTA’s mission, vision, and goals without fear of reprisal for differences of opinion.

College of Communication, Architecture + The Arts Constitution and T&P Guidelines

CARTA Faculty Senators and Committee Representatives

(Terms are 2 years unless noted)

CARTA Faculty Senators (CARTA is allotted 7 senators):

Kathleen Wilson, Music, kwilson@fiu.edu, elected 2016
Jaime Ousley  elected 2017, lousley@fiu.edu, elected 2017
Neil Reisner, Journalism, reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2017
Elizabeth Marsh, Communication, marshe@fiu.edu, elected 2016
Phillip Church, Theatre, church@fiu.edu, elected 2016
Marcia Littley, Music, ariasm@fiu.edu,  elected 2017, 1-year term
Jaime Canaves, Architecture, canaves@fiu.edu, elected 2017

Alternates:
Susan Jacobson, Communication, susan.jacobson@fiu.edu, elected 2017, 1-year term
Karen Fuller, Music fullerk@fiu.edu  elected 2017, 1-year term

Faculty Senate Standing Committees:

Academic Policies and Personnel Committee
Phillip Church, Theatre, church@fiu.edu, elected 201

Graduate Council 
Joel Galand, Music galandj@fiu.edu  elected 2017

Curriculum Committee
Fred Blevens, Journalism, blevensf@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Honorary Degree and Awards Committee
Barbara Watts, Art and Art History, wattsb@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Technology Committee 
Malik Benjamin, Architecture and Michael Sheerin, Communication, Benjamin@fiu.edu, sheerinm@fiu.edu,  elected 2017 as a team

Undergraduate Council
Robert (Ted) Gutsche, rgutsche@fiu.edu, elected 2017

Library Committee
Anthony Galaska, Theatre, agalaska@fiu.edu, elected 2016

CARTA Assembly Chair  

Gray Read, Architecture, and Neil Reisner, Journalism, readg@fiu.edu, reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2017 as a team

CARTA Faculty Senators:

Kathleen Wilson, Music, kwilson@fiu.edu, elected 2016
Jaime Canaves, Architecture, canavesj@fiu.edu, elected 2015
Neil Reisner, Journalism, reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2016 for one year
Elizabeth Marsh, Communication, marshe@fiu.edu, elected 2016
Phillip Church, Theatre, church@fiu.edu, elected 2016 as alternate

Alternates:
Susan Jacobson, Communication, susan.jacobson@fiu.edu,

Faculty Senate Standing Committees:

Academic Policies and Personnel Committee
Fred Blevens, Journalism, blevensf@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Graduate Council  
Fred Blevens, Journalism, blevensf@fiu.edu, elected 2016 for 1 year.

Curriculum Committee
Fred Blevens, Journalism, blevensf@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Honorary Degree and Awards Committee
Barbara Watts, Art and Art History, wattsb@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Technology Committee  
Malik Benjamin, Architecture and Michael Sheerin, Communication, Benjamin@fiu.edu, sheerinm@fiu.edu,  elected 2016 as a team for 1 year

Undergraduate Council
Karen Fuller, Music, fullerk@fiu.edu, elected 2016 for 1 year

Library Committee
Anthony Galaska, Theatre, agalaska@fiu.edu, elected 2016

CARTA Committees

All representatives are selected by faculty in their respective departments during the first faculty meeting in the fall term.

CARTA Steering Committee

Architecture: Eric Goldemberg goldembe@fiu.edu, , elected 2014
Art & Art History:
Communication: Nicole Kashian  Nicole.kashian@fiu.edu  elected 2015
Interior Arch: Philip Abbott pabbott@fiu.edu, , elected 2013
Journalism: Neil Reisner reisnern@fiu.edu,  elected 2016
Landscape Arch: Roberto Rovira, rovirar@fiu.edu  elected 2016
Music: Mesut Ozgen mozgen@fiu.edu, elected 2015
Theater: Jennifer Ivey iveyj@fiu.edu , elected 2017

CARTA Curriculum Committee:

Architecture: Thomas Spiegelhalter, tspiege@fiu.edu, elected 2017
Art & Art History: Daniel Guernsey guernsey@fiu.edu, elected 2015
Communication: Nathalie Desrayaud Nathalie.Desrayaud@fiu.edu,
Interior Arch: Janine King jking@fiu.edu
Journalism: Fred Blevens blevensf@fiu.edu
Landscape Arch: Marta Canaves, mcanaves@fiu.edu, elected 2016
Music: Karen Fuller fullerk@fiu.edu, elected 2015
Theater: Rebecca Covey rebecca.covey@fiu.edu,

CARTA T&P Committee:

Architecture: Jaime Canaves canavesj@fiu.edu, elected 2015
Art & Art History: William J. Burke William.Burke@fiu.edu
Communication: Sigal Segev sgevs@fiu.edu
Interior Arch: Newton D Souza ndsouza@fiu.edu
Journalism: Lorna Veraldi Lorna.Veraldi@fiu.edu
Landscape Arch: Juan Bueno buenoj@fiu.edu,
Music: Orlando Garcia garciao@fiu.edu
Theater: Lesley-Ann Timlick timlickl@fiu.edu,

CARTA Awards Committee – Ad hoc

Established in 2015 to administer the CARTA Faculty Awards process, review applicants, and select winners. Committee started 2015

Architecture: Alfredo Andia andiaa@fiu.edu,
Art & Art History: Pip Brant brantp@fiu.edu
Communication: Daniel Blaeuer  daniel.blaeuer@fiu.edu
Interior Arch: Phillip Abbott pabbott@fiu.edu
Journalism: Neil Reisner reisnern@fiu.edu
Landscape Arch:  Juan Bueno buenoj@fiu.edu, elected 2015
Music: Mezut Ozgen  mozgen@fiu.edu
Theater: Michael Yawney michael.yawney@fiu.edu