School of Music
Modesto A. Maidique Campus
Herbert and Nicole Wertheim Performing Arts Center

Advising

Advising 2017-01-12T21:05:03+00:00

The School of Music has an advising team that is here to help students with all of our programs. Our advising team will:

  • Help you plan effectively
  • Work with you to identify goals and develop educational plans to reach them
  • Assist you with academic issues and help you find solutions
  • Help you understand degree requirements
  • Work with you to select and schedule your courses

Prior to each registration period, incoming and continuing music majors are placed on an advising hold until they have met with their academic advisor, who will work with students to plan their schedule for the upcoming semester, process any necessary course permissions, and refer students to the appropriate faculty member if more specialized advisement or course placement is needed.


Undergraduate Advising


Gerry-Suarez-150x150Gerry Suarez
Undergraduate Advisor
gsuarez@fiu.edu
305-348-2442
Office Location: WPAC 131A

 

 

Graduate Advising


galand-150x150-1Joel Galand

Graduate Advisor
galandj@fiu.edu
305-348-7078
Office Location: WPAC 152A

 

 

Area Coordinators

Composition:

OrlandoinFrostART2smallerOrlando Jacinto Garcia
garciao@fiu.edu
305-535-2617
Office Location: College of Communication, Architecture, + The Arts | Miami Beach Urban Studios, Room 439

 

 

Conducting:

Choral:

KateLongoKathryn K. Longo
klongo@fiu.edu
305-348-3359
Office Location: WPAC 144A

 

 

 

Instrumental:

Brenton-AlstonBrenton F. Alston
bralston@fiu.edu
305-348-2497
Office Location: WPAC 151A

 

 

Orchestral:

Ponti

Raffaele Livio Ponti
rponti@fiu.edu
305-348-2896
Office Location: WPAC 143B

 

 

Jazz:

campbellGary Campbell
campbelg@fiu.edu
305-348-1854
Office Location: WPAC 145A

 

 

 

Music Business:

Karen Fuller
fullerk@fiu.edu
305-348-3726
Office Location: WPAC 143C

 

 

 

Music Education:

Jamey Kelley

Dr. Jamey Kelley
jkelley@fiu.edu
305-348-7252
Office Location: 145C

 

 

 

Music Technology:


jacobsudolDr. Jacob Sudol

jacob.sudol@gmail.com
305-348-0109
Office Location: WPAC 169

 

 

 

Performance:

Piano:

joselopezJosé López
lopezjr@fiu.edu
305-348-3697
Office Location: WPAC 143B

 

 

 

Strings:


MarciaLittleyMarcia Littley

Marcia.Arias@fiu.edu
305-348-1699
Office Location: VH 120

 

 

 

Vocal:

Vindhya Khare
vindhya.khare@fiu.edu
305-348-4915
Office Location:146A

 

 

 

Wind/Brass/Marching Band/Percussion:


barrybernhardtBarry Bernhardt

barry.bernhardt@fiu.edu
305-348-1547
Office Location: WPAC 155B

 

PGlmcmFtZSBzcmM9Imh0dHBzOi8vd3d3Lmdvb2dsZS5jb20vbWFwcy9lbWJlZD9wYj0hMW0xOCExbTEyITFtMyExZDE3OTYuNzYwNTg4ODAwMTM2MiEyZC04MC4zNzMwMDAyMTczNjEzOCEzZDI1Ljc1MzM0MzU3OTM0OTkzITJtMyExZjAhMmYwITNmMCEzbTIhMWkxMDI0ITJpNzY4ITRmMTMuMSEzbTMhMW0yITFzMHgwMDAwMDAwMDAwMDAwMDAwJTNBMHg4M2JmZGI0ZTAwOTc1YjA3ITJzV2VydGhlaW0rUGVyZm9ybWluZytBcnRzK0NlbnRlciE1ZTAhM20yITFzZW4hMnN1cyE0djE0NTIyNzcwNzc2MTkiIHdpZHRoPSIxMDAlIiBoZWlnaHQ9IjEwMCUiIGZyYW1lYm9yZGVyPSIwIiBzdHlsZT0iYm9yZGVyOjAiIGFsbG93ZnVsbHNjcmVlbj48L2lmcmFtZT4=
PGlmcmFtZSB3aWR0aD0iMTAwJSIgaGVpZ2h0PSIxMDAlIiBzcmM9Imh0dHBzOi8vd3d3LnlvdXR1YmUuY29tL2VtYmVkL29BZmRqWDIxSElrP3JlbD0wJmF1dG9wbGF5PTEiIGZyYW1lYm9yZGVyPSIwIiBhbGxvd2Z1bGxzY3JlZW4+PC9pZnJhbWU+