Past Deans2022-10-26T17:02:07-04:00

School Of Architecture 25th Anniversary

Past Deans


brian schriner

Brian Schriner

Brian Schriner is an accomplished educator, administrator, fundraiser, strategic thinker, and change maker with a 33-year proven track record of collaboration and success.   

Brian was appointed Dean of the FIU College of Communication, Architecture + The Arts (CARTA) in 2009. Unique in composition, CARTA is connected by its motto, “Creative Forces at Work” and united in its commitment to prepare diverse leaders with global perspectives through applied learning, research, and creative activities.

View Full Bio


bueno square

Juan Antonio Bueno

Juan Antonio Bueno is Professor of Landscape Architecture and Founding Dean of the College of Architecture + The Arts. He is a Fellow of the American Society of Landscape Architects and Distinguished Alumnus of the Landscape Architecture Program at Harvard University. He is a retired landscape architect and professional engineer in Florida, where he shared his professional practice with the architect and landscape architect Teresita Falcón at Falcón + Bueno for forty-five years.

View Full Bio


William McMinn DSC 0002 900x507

William “Bill” G. McMinn

The SOA’s founding dean, William “Bill” G. McMinn, an accomplished practitioner and educator, was recruited to FIU for the purpose of establishing the SOA. Under Dean McMinn’s visionary leadership from 1997-2000, the SOA immediately flourished, gaining full accreditation from the National Architectural Accrediting Board and initiating the international design competition that led to the construction of the Bernard Tschumi-designed Paul L. Cejas School of Architecture Building on our Modesto Maidique Campus.