College Assembly2024-02-13T11:41:53-05:00

College Assembly

CARTA Faculty Awards Winners

CARTA Faculty Awards 2023

View Past Winners

The constitution of the College of Communication, Architecture + The Arts (CARTA) reflects a system of governance that is democratic, collegial, participatory, and representative of the diverse backgrounds, disciplines, and opinions of its faculty and constituent academic units. These units are responsible for the day-to-day implementation of CARTA’s mission.

The relationship between faculty who serve as administrators and faculty who primarily teach and/or engage in creative activities and research is one of mutual respect, trust, consultation, and cooperation. This relationship fosters and encourages the exchange of ideas for the purpose of advancing CARTA’s mission, vision, and goals without fear of reprisal for differences of opinion.

CARTA Faculty Senators + University Committee Representatives

(Terms are 2 years unless noted)

CARTA College Committees

All representatives are selected by faculty in their respective departments during the first faculty meeting in the fall term.

CARTA Steering Committee

Architecture: Nick Gelpi – ngelpi@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Art & Art History: Fereshteh Toosi – fhamidit@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Communication: Nicole Kashian – nkashian@fiu.edu, elected 2023
Interior Arch: Phillip Abbott – pabbott@fiu.edu, elected 2023
Journalism: Neil Reisner – reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Alternate for Fall 2023: Teresa Ponte – pontet@fiu.edu
Landscape Arch: Linda Chamorro – lchamorr@fiu.edu, elected 2023
Music: Mesut Ozgen – mozgen@fiu.edu, elected 2021
Theater: Melvin Huffnagle – mhuffnag@fiu.edu, Theater, elected 2021

CARTA Curriculum Committee:

Architecture: Camilo Rosales – rosalesc@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Art & Art History: Daniel Guernsey – guernsey@fiu.edu, elected 2022, co-chair, 2022
Communication: Nathalie Desrayaud – Nathalie.Desrayaud@fiu.edu, 2023
Interior Arch: Sam Moshaver – smoshave@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Journalism: Stephen Kairalla – stephen.kairalla@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Landscape Arch: Linda Chamorro – lchamorr@fiu.edu, elected 2020
Music: Vindhya Khare – vkhare@fiu.edu, elected 2021, co-chair, 2022
Theater: Jennifer Ivey – jivey@fiu.edu, elected 2023

CARTA T&P Committee:

Architecture: Shahin Vassigh – svassigh@fiu.edu, elected 2020
Art & Art History: Benjamin Bellas – bzellmer@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Communication: Nicole Kashian – Nicole.kashian@fiu.edu, elected 2023
Interior Arch: Newton D Souza – ndsouza@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Journalism: Leonardo Ferrerira – Leonardo.Ferrerira@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Landscape Arch: Ebru Ozer – eozer@fiu.edu, elected 2023
Music: Gary Campbell – campbelg@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Theater: Lesley-Ann Timlick – timlickl@fiu.edu, elected 2021

CARTA Awards Committee – Ad hoc
Established in 2015 to administer the CARTA Faculty Awards process, review applicants, and select winners. Committee started 2015

Architecture: Eric Goldemberg – goldembe@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Art & Art History: Thomas Scicluna – tsciclun@fiu.edu, elected 2023
Communication: Margo Berman – bermanm@fiu.edu, elected 2023
Interior Arch: Phillip Abbott – pabbott@fiu.edu
Journalism: Neil Reisner – reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Landscape Arch: Ebru Ozer – eozer@fiu.edu, elected 2020
Music: Mesut Ozgen – mozgen@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Theater: Michael Yawney – michael.yawney@fiu.edu, elected 2023