College Assembly2023-01-13T12:57:55-05:00

College Assembly

CARTA Faculty Awards Winners

CARTA College Assembly Faculty Awards 2022
View Past Winners

The constitution of the College of Communication, Architecture + The Arts (CARTA) reflects a system of governance that is democratic, collegial, participatory, and representative of the diverse backgrounds, disciplines, and opinions of its faculty and constituent academic units. These units are responsible for the day-to-day implementation of CARTA’s mission.

The relationship between faculty who serve as administrators and faculty who primarily teach and/or engage in creative activities and research is one of mutual respect, trust, consultation, and cooperation. This relationship fosters and encourages the exchange of ideas for the purpose of advancing CARTA’s mission, vision, and goals without fear of reprisal for differences of opinion.

CARTA Faculty Senators + University Committee Representatives

(Terms are 2 years unless noted)

CARTA College Committees

All representatives are selected by faculty in their respective departments during the first faculty meeting in the fall term.

CARTA Steering Committee

Architecture:   Nick Gelpi, gelpin@fiu.edu, elected 2020
Art & Art History:  Fereshteh Toosi, fhamidit@fiu.edu  elected 2020
Communication: Nicole Kashian, Nicole.kashian@fiu.edu  re-elected 2019
Interior Arch:  Phillip Abbott, pabbott@fiu.edu  elected 2020
Journalism: Neil Reisner, reisnern@fiu.edu,   re-elected 2020
Landscape Arch:  TJ Marston, tiffany.marston@fiu.edu  re-elected 2020
Music:  Mesut Ozgen, mozgen@fiu.edu, re-elected 2019
TheaterMelvin Huffnagle, Theater,  elected 2021

CARTA Curriculum Committee:

Architecture: Camilo Rosales, rosalesc@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Art & Art History: Daniel Guernsey, guernsey@fiu.edu, elected 2020
Communication: Nathalie Desrayaud, Nathalie.Desrayaud@fiu.educo-chair, 2020
Interior Arch: Newton D Souza, ndsouza@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Journalism: Stephen Kairalla, stephen.kairalla@fiu.edu, elected 202
Landscape Arch: Linda Chamorro, lchamorr@fiu.edu,  elected 2020
Music: Vindhya Kharevindhya.khare@fiu.edu, elected 2019
Theater: Rebecca Covey, rcovey@fiu.edu, elected 2020co-chair

CARTA T&P Committee:

Architecture: Shahin Vassighsvassigh@fiu.eduelected 2020
Art & Art History: Benjamin Bellas, bzellmer@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Communication: David Park, djpark@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Interior Arch: Newton D Souza, ndsouza@fiu.edu re-elected 2021
Journalism: Leonardo Ferrerira, Leonardo.Ferrerira@fiu.edu elected 2022
Landscape Arch: Juan Antonio Bueno, buenoj@fiu.edure-elected 2021
Music: Gary Campbell, campbelg@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Theater: Lesley-Ann Timlick, timlickl@fiu.edu, elected 2021

CARTA Awards Committee – Ad hoc

Established in 2015 to administer the CARTA Faculty Awards process, review applicants, and select winners. Committee started 2015

Architecture: Eric Goldemberg, goldembe@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Art & Art History: Pip Brant, brantp@fiu.edu, elected 2020
Communication: Margo Berman, bermanm@fiu.edure-elected 2020
Interior Arch: Phillip Abbott, pabbott@fiu.edu
Journalism: Neil Reisner, reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2019
Landscape Arch: Ebru Ozer, eozer@fiu.edu re-elected 2020
Music: Mezut Ozgen, mozgen@fiu.edu elected 2020
Theater: Michael Yawney, michael.yawney@fiu.edu re-elected 2020