Private: Temp Notice2020-05-04T14:57:42-04:00
FIU Corona Virus Updates
College Assembly2020-06-12T11:20:19-04:00
View CARTA News Story

The constitution of the College of Communication, Architecture + The Arts (CARTA) reflects a system of governance that is democratic, collegial, participatory, and representative of the diverse backgrounds, disciplines, and opinions of its faculty and constituent academic units. These units are responsible for the day-to-day implementation of CARTA’s mission.

The relationship between faculty who serve as administrators and faculty who primarily teach and/or engage in creative activities and research is one of mutual respect, trust, consultation, and cooperation. This relationship fosters and encourages the exchange of ideas for the purpose of advancing CARTA’s mission, vision, and goals without fear of reprisal for differences of opinion.

CARTA POLICIES, DOCUMENTS + GUIDELINES

CARTA Constitution
CARTA By-Laws
CARTA Faculty Awards
CARTA Appointment, Tenure + Promotion Guidelines
CARTA Differential Workload POLICY
University Differential Assignment POLICY

CARTA FACULTY SENATORS + UNIVERSITY COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES

(Terms are 2 years unless noted)

CARTA Faculty Senators (CARTA is allotted 5 senators):

Neil Reisner, Journalism, reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2019
Jaime Canaves, Architecture, canaves@fiu.edu, elected 2019
Elizabeth Marsh, Communication, marshe@fiu.edu, elected 2018
Phillip Church, Theatre, church@fiu.edu, elected 2018
Marcia Littley, Music, ariasm@fiu.edu,  elected 2018
Sandy Adorno, Music, sadorno@fiu.edu, elected 2020

Senate Alternates (1-year term):

Susan Jacobson, Journalism, sujacobs@fiu.edu, elected 2020
Barbara Watts, Art + Art History, wattsb@fiu.edu, elected 2020

Faculty Senate Standing Committees:

Academic Policies and Personnel Committee
Phillip Church, Theatre, church@fiu.edu, elected 2019

Graduate Council 
Neil Leach, Architecture, dleach@fiu.edu, elected 2020

Curriculum Committee
Rebecca Covey, Theatre, rcovey@fiu.edu, and Nathalie Desrayaud, Communication ndesraya@fiu.edu, elected as a team 2020

Honorary Degree and Awards Committee
Lidu Yi, Art + Art History, lidyi@fiu.edu,  elected 2018

Technology Committee 
Federico Bonacossa, Music, fbonacos@fiu.edu, elected 2020

Undergraduate Council
Mesut Ozgen, Music, mozgen@fiu.edu, elected 2018

Library Committee
Anthony Galaska, Theatre, agalaska@fiu.edu, elected 2018

CARTA Assembly Chair  

Gray Read, Architecture, readg@fiu.edu, and Neil Reisner, Journalism, reisnern@fiu.edu, elected as a team 2019

CARTA Faculty Senators (CARTA is allotted 5 senators):

Marcia Littley, Steering Committee, ariasm@fiu.edu,  elected 2018
Jaime Canaves, Architecture, canaves@fiu.edu, elected 2017
Elizabeth Marsh, Communication, marshe@fiu.edu, elected 2018
Phillip Church, Theatre, church@fiu.edu, elected 2018
Jaime Ousley  Music, lousley@fiu.edu, elected 2018,

Alternates:

Lesley-Ann Timlick, Theater, elected 2018, 1-year term

Faculty Senate Standing Committees:

Academic Policies and Personnel Committee
Phillip Church, Theatre, church@fiu.edu, elected 2017

Graduate Council 
Joel Galand, Music galandj@fiu.edu  elected 2017

Curriculum Committee
Rebecca Covey rebecca.covey@fiu.edu,  elected 2018

Honorary Degree and Awards Committee
Lido Yi, lidyi@fiu.edu,  elected 2018

Technology Committee 
Michael Sheerin, Communication, sheerinm@fiu.edu,  elected 2017

Undergraduate Council
Mesut Ozgen mozgen@fiu.edu, elected 2015

Library Committee
Anthony Galaska, Theatre, agalaska@fiu.edu, elected 2018

CARTA Assembly Chair  

Gray Read, Architecture, readg@fiu.edu, elected 2017

CARTA Faculty Senators (CARTA is allotted 7 senators):

Kathleen Wilson, Music, kwilson@fiu.edu, elected 2016
Jaime Ousley  elected 2017, lousley@fiu.edu, elected 2017
Neil Reisner, Journalism, reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2017
Elizabeth Marsh, Communication, marshe@fiu.edu, elected 2016
Phillip Church, Theatre, church@fiu.edu, elected 2016
Marcia Littley, Music, ariasm@fiu.edu,  elected 2017, 1-year term
Jaime Canaves, Architecture, canaves@fiu.edu, elected 2017

Alternates:
Susan Jacobson, Communication, susan.jacobson@fiu.edu, elected 2017, 1-year term
Karen Fuller, Music fullerk@fiu.edu  elected 2017, 1-year term

Faculty Senate Standing Committees:

Academic Policies and Personnel Committee
Phillip Church, Theatre, church@fiu.edu, elected 201

Graduate Council 
Joel Galand, Music galandj@fiu.edu  elected 2017

Curriculum Committee
Fred Blevens, Journalism, blevensf@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Honorary Degree and Awards Committee
Barbara Watts, Art and Art History, wattsb@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Technology Committee 
Malik Benjamin, Architecture and Michael Sheerin, Communication, Benjamin@fiu.edu, sheerinm@fiu.edu,  elected 2017 as a team

Undergraduate Council
Robert (Ted) Gutsche, rgutsche@fiu.edu, elected 2017

Library Committee
Anthony Galaska, Theatre, agalaska@fiu.edu, elected 2016

CARTA Assembly Chair  

Gray Read, Architecture, and Neil Reisner, Journalism, readg@fiu.edu, reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2017 as a team

CARTA Faculty Senators:

Kathleen Wilson, Music, kwilson@fiu.edu, elected 2016
Jaime Canaves, Architecture, canavesj@fiu.edu, elected 2015
Neil Reisner, Journalism, reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2016 for one year
Elizabeth Marsh, Communication, marshe@fiu.edu, elected 2016
Phillip Church, Theatre, church@fiu.edu, elected 2016 as alternate

Alternates:
Susan Jacobson, Communication, susan.jacobson@fiu.edu,

Faculty Senate Standing Committees:

Academic Policies and Personnel Committee
Fred Blevens, Journalism, blevensf@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Graduate Council  
Fred Blevens, Journalism, blevensf@fiu.edu, elected 2016 for 1 year.

Curriculum Committee
Fred Blevens, Journalism, blevensf@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Honorary Degree and Awards Committee
Barbara Watts, Art and Art History, wattsb@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Technology Committee  
Malik Benjamin, Architecture and Michael Sheerin, Communication, Benjamin@fiu.edu, sheerinm@fiu.edu,  elected 2016 as a team for 1 year

Undergraduate Council
Karen Fuller, Music, fullerk@fiu.edu, elected 2016 for 1 year

Library Committee
Anthony Galaska, Theatre, agalaska@fiu.edu, elected 2016

CARTA COLLEGE COMMITTEES

All representatives are selected by faculty in their respective departments during the first faculty meeting in the fall term.

CARTA Steering Committee

Architecture: Nick Gelpi, gelpin@fiu.edu , elected 2018
Art & Art History: Ferestah Toosi fhamidit@fiu.edu  elected 2020
Communication: Nicole Kashian Nicole.kashian@fiu.edu elected 2015
Interior Arch: Philip Abbott pabbott@fiu.edu, elected 2013
Journalism: Neil Reisner reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2016
Landscape Arch: TJ Marston, tiffany.marston@fiu.edu elected 2018
Music: Mesut Ozgen mozgen@fiu.edu, elected 2015
Theater: Jennifer Ivey iveyj@fiu.edu , elected 2019

CARTA Curriculum Committee:

Architecture: Thomas Spiegelhalter, tspiege@fiu.edu, elected 2017
Art & Art History: Daniel Guernsey guernsey@fiu.edu, elected 2015
Communication: Nathalie Desrayaud Nathalie.Desrayaud@fiu.edu,
Interior Arch: Janine King mozgen@fiu.edu  jking@fiu.edu elected 2018
Journalism: Susan Jacobson, susan.jacobson@fiu.edu, elected 2017
Landscape Arch: Linda Chamorro, lchamorr@fiu.edu,  elected 2018
Music: Mesut Ozgen mozgen@fiu.edu elected 2019
Theater: Rebecca Covey rebecca.covey@fiu.edu, Chair

CARTA T&P Committee:

Architecture: Shahin Vassigh, svassigh@fiu.edu, elected 2018
Art & Art History: Tori Arpad-Cotta, arpadt@fiu.edu, elected 2018
Communication: Sigal Segev sgevs@fiu.edu elected 2017
Interior Arch: Newton D Souza ndsouza@fiu.edu elected 2017
Journalism: Leonardo Ferrerira Leonardo.Ferrerira@fiu.edu elected 2019
Landscape Arch: Juan Bueno buenoj@fiu.edu, elected 2016
Music: Orlando Garcia garciao@fiu.edu elected 2017
Theater: Lesley-Ann Timlick timlickl@fiu.edu, elected 2019

CARTA Awards Committee – Ad hoc

Established in 2015 to administer the CARTA Faculty Awards process, review applicants, and select winners. Committee started 2015

Architecture: Henry Rueda, hruedaco@fiu.edu , elected 2018
Art & Art History: Pip Brant brantp@fiu.edu
Communication: Margo Berman bermanm@fiu.edu, elected 2018
Interior Arch: Phillip Abbott pabbott@fiu.edu
Journalism: Neil Reisner reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2019
Landscape Arch: Ebru Ozer eozer@fiu.edu elected 2018
Music: Mezut Ozgen mozgen@fiu.edu
Theater: Michael Yawney michael.yawney@fiu.edu