College Assembly2022-11-29T11:55:34-05:00

College Assembly

The constitution of the College of Communication, Architecture + The Arts (CARTA) reflects a system of governance that is democratic, collegial, participatory, and representative of the diverse backgrounds, disciplines, and opinions of its faculty and constituent academic units. These units are responsible for the day-to-day implementation of CARTA’s mission.

The relationship between faculty who serve as administrators and faculty who primarily teach and/or engage in creative activities and research is one of mutual respect, trust, consultation, and cooperation. This relationship fosters and encourages the exchange of ideas for the purpose of advancing CARTA’s mission, vision, and goals without fear of reprisal for differences of opinion.

CARTA Policies, Documents + Guidelines

CARTA Constitution
CARTA By-Laws
CARTA Faculty Awards
CARTA Appointment, Tenure + Promotion Guidelines
CARTA Differential Workload POLICY
University Differential Assignment POLICY

CARTA Faculty Awards Winners

CARTA College Assembly Faculty Awards 2022
CARTA Faculty Awards Call 2023
View Past Winners

Department Tenure + Promotion Guidelines

Architecture
Interior Arch
Landscape Arch
Art & Art History
Music
Theatre
Communication
Journalism

CARTA Faculty Senators + University Committee Representatives

(Terms are 2 years unless noted)

CARTA Faculty Senators (CARTA is allotted 5 senators)

Neil Reisner, Journalism, reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2021 
Jaime Canaves, Architecture, canaves@fiu.edu, elected 2021 
Marcia Littley, Music, ariasm@fiu.edu, elected 2020 
Anthony Galaska, Theatre, agalaska@fiu.edu, elected 2022 
Mesut Ozgen, Music, mozgen@fiu.edu, elected 2022  

Senate Alternates (1-year term):

Nathan Kurland, Communication, nakurlan@fiu.edu, elected 2022 
Chris Goslin, Theater, cgoslin@fiu.edu, elected 2022 

Faculty Senate Standing Committees:

Academic Policies and Personnel Committee
Mihaela Plugarasu, Communications, mplugara@fiu.edu, elected 2022

Graduate Council 
Neil Leach, Architecture, dleach@fiu.edu, elected 2022

Curriculum Committee

Daniel Guernsey, Art and Art History, guernsey@fiu.edu
Vindhya Khare, Music, vkhare@fiu.edu, elected 2022 as Co-chairs 

Honorary Degree and Awards Committee

Elizabeth Marsh, Communication, marshe@fiu.edu, elected 2022 

Technology Committee 
Federico Bonacossa, Music, fbonacos@fiu.edu, elected 2020 

Undergraduate Council
Mesut Ozgen, Music, mozgen@fiu.edu, elected 2020 

Library Committee
Jennifer Ivey, Theater, jivey@fiu.edu, elected 2022 

 

CARTA Assembly Chair  

Gray Read, Architecture, and Neil Reisner, Journalism, readg@fiu.edureisnern@fiu.edu, elected as a team 2021

CARTA Faculty Senators (CARTA is allotted 5 senators)

Neil Reisner, Journalism, reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2021 
Jaime Canaves, Architecture, canaves@fiu.edu, elected 2021 
Marcia Littley, Music, ariasm@fiu.edu,  elected 2020 
Sandy Adorno, Music, sadorno@fiu.edu, elected 2020 
Federico Bonacossa, Music, fbonacos@fiu.edu, elected as alternate 2021 

Senate Alternates (1-year term):

Mesut Ozgen, Music, mozgen@fiu.edu, elected 2021 

Faculty Senate Standing Committees

Academic Policies and Personnel Committee
Phillip Church, Theatre, church@fiu.eduelected 2021 

Graduate Council 
Neil Leach, Architecture, dleach@fiu.edu, elected 2020 

Curriculum Committee
Rebecca Covey, Theater, rcovey@fiu.edu, and Nathalie Desrayaud, Communication ndesraya@fiu.edu,  elected as a team 2020

Honorary Degree and Awards Committee
Lidu Yi, lidyi@fiu.edu,  elected 2020

Technology Committee 
Federico Bonacossa, Music, fbonacos@fiu.edu, elected 2020 

Undergraduate Council
Mesut Ozgen, Music, mozgen@fiu.edu, elected 2020 

Library Committee
Anthony Galaska, Theatre, agalaska@fiu.edu, elected 2020 

CARTA Assembly Chair  

Gray Read, Architecture, and Neil Reisner, Journalism, readg@fiu.edureisnern@fiu.edu, elected as a team 2019

CARTA Faculty Senators (CARTA is allotted 5 senators):

Neil Reisner, Journalism, reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2019
Jaime Canaves, Architecture, canaves@fiu.edu, elected 2019
Susan Jacobson, Journalism, sujacobs@fiu.edu, elected 2020
Marcia Littley, Music, ariasm@fiu.edu,  elected 2018
Sandy Adorno, Music, sadorno@fiu.edu, elected 2020

Senate Alternates (1-year term):

Elizabeth Marsh, Communication, marshe@fiu.edu
Barbara Watts, Art + Art History, wattsb@fiu.edu, elected 2020

Faculty Senate Standing Committees:

Academic Policies and Personnel Committee
Phillip Church, Theatre, church@fiu.edu, elected 2019

Graduate Council 
Neil Leach, Architecture, dleach@fiu.edu, elected 2020

Curriculum Committee
Rebecca Covey, Theatre, rcovey@fiu.edu, and Nathalie Desrayaud, Communication ndesraya@fiu.edu, elected as a team 2020

Honorary Degree and Awards Committee
Lidu Yi, Art + Art History, lidyi@fiu.edu,  elected 2018

Technology Committee 
Federico Bonacossa, Music, fbonacos@fiu.edu, elected 2020

Undergraduate Council
Mesut Ozgen, Music, mozgen@fiu.edu, elected 2018

Library Committee
Anthony Galaska, Theatre, agalaska@fiu.edu, elected 2018

CARTA Assembly Chair  

Gray Read, Architecture, readg@fiu.edu, and Neil Reisner, Journalism, reisnern@fiu.edu, elected as a team 2019

CARTA Faculty Senators (CARTA is allotted 5 senators):

Marcia Littley, Steering Committee, ariasm@fiu.edu,  elected 2018
Jaime Canaves, Architecture, canaves@fiu.edu, elected 2017
Elizabeth Marsh, Communication, marshe@fiu.edu, elected 2018
Phillip Church, Theatre, church@fiu.edu, elected 2018
Jaime Ousley  Music, lousley@fiu.edu, elected 2018,

Alternates:

Lesley-Ann Timlick, Theater, elected 2018, 1-year term

Faculty Senate Standing Committees:

Academic Policies and Personnel Committee
Phillip Church, Theatre, church@fiu.edu, elected 2017

Graduate Council 
Joel Galand, Music galandj@fiu.edu  elected 2017

Curriculum Committee
Rebecca Covey rebecca.covey@fiu.edu,  elected 2018

Honorary Degree and Awards Committee
Lido Yi, lidyi@fiu.edu,  elected 2018

Technology Committee 
Michael Sheerin, Communication, sheerinm@fiu.edu,  elected 2017

Undergraduate Council
Mesut Ozgen mozgen@fiu.edu, elected 2015

Library Committee
Anthony Galaska, Theatre, agalaska@fiu.edu, elected 2018

CARTA Assembly Chair  

Gray Read, Architecture, readg@fiu.edu, elected 2017

CARTA Faculty Senators (CARTA is allotted 7 senators):

Kathleen Wilson, Music, kwilson@fiu.edu, elected 2016
Jaime Ousley  elected 2017, lousley@fiu.edu, elected 2017
Neil Reisner, Journalism, reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2017
Elizabeth Marsh, Communication, marshe@fiu.edu, elected 2016
Phillip Church, Theatre, church@fiu.edu, elected 2016
Marcia Littley, Music, ariasm@fiu.edu,  elected 2017, 1-year term
Jaime Canaves, Architecture, canaves@fiu.edu, elected 2017

Alternates:
Susan Jacobson, Communication, susan.jacobson@fiu.edu, elected 2017, 1-year term
Karen Fuller, Music fullerk@fiu.edu  elected 2017, 1-year term

Faculty Senate Standing Committees:

Academic Policies and Personnel Committee
Phillip Church, Theatre, church@fiu.edu, elected 201

Graduate Council 
Joel Galand, Music galandj@fiu.edu  elected 2017

Curriculum Committee
Fred Blevens, Journalism, blevensf@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Honorary Degree and Awards Committee
Barbara Watts, Art and Art History, wattsb@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Technology Committee 
Malik Benjamin, Architecture and Michael Sheerin, Communication, Benjamin@fiu.edu, sheerinm@fiu.edu,  elected 2017 as a team

Undergraduate Council
Robert (Ted) Gutsche, rgutsche@fiu.edu, elected 2017

Library Committee
Anthony Galaska, Theatre, agalaska@fiu.edu, elected 2016

CARTA Assembly Chair  

Gray Read, Architecture, and Neil Reisner, Journalism, readg@fiu.edu, reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2017 as a team

CARTA Faculty Senators:

Kathleen Wilson, Music, kwilson@fiu.edu, elected 2016
Jaime Canaves, Architecture, canavesj@fiu.edu, elected 2015
Neil Reisner, Journalism, reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2016 for one year
Elizabeth Marsh, Communication, marshe@fiu.edu, elected 2016
Phillip Church, Theatre, church@fiu.edu, elected 2016 as alternate

Alternates:
Susan Jacobson, Communication, susan.jacobson@fiu.edu,

Faculty Senate Standing Committees:

Academic Policies and Personnel Committee
Fred Blevens, Journalism, blevensf@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Graduate Council  
Fred Blevens, Journalism, blevensf@fiu.edu, elected 2016 for 1 year.

Curriculum Committee
Fred Blevens, Journalism, blevensf@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Honorary Degree and Awards Committee
Barbara Watts, Art and Art History, wattsb@fiu.edu, elected 2016

Technology Committee  
Malik Benjamin, Architecture and Michael Sheerin, Communication, Benjamin@fiu.edu, sheerinm@fiu.edu,  elected 2016 as a team for 1 year

Undergraduate Council
Karen Fuller, Music, fullerk@fiu.edu, elected 2016 for 1 year

Library Committee
Anthony Galaska, Theatre, agalaska@fiu.edu, elected 2016

CARTA College Committees

All representatives are selected by faculty in their respective departments during the first faculty meeting in the fall term.

CARTA Steering Committee

Architecture:   Nick Gelpi, gelpin@fiu.edu, elected 2020
Art & Art History:  Fereshteh Toosi, fhamidit@fiu.edu  elected 2020
Communication: Nicole Kashian, Nicole.kashian@fiu.edu  re-elected 2019
Interior Arch:  Phillip Abbott, pabbott@fiu.edu  elected 2020
Journalism: Neil Reisner, reisnern@fiu.edu,   re-elected 2020
Landscape Arch:  TJ Marston, tiffany.marston@fiu.edu  re-elected 2020
Music:  Mesut Ozgen, mozgen@fiu.edu, re-elected 2019
TheaterMelvin Huffnagle, Theater,  elected 2021

CARTA Curriculum Committee:

Architecture: Camilo Rosales, rosalesc@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Art & Art History: Daniel Guernsey, guernsey@fiu.edu, elected 2020
Communication: Nathalie Desrayaud, Nathalie.Desrayaud@fiu.educo-chair, 2020
Interior Arch: Newton D Souza, ndsouza@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Journalism: Stephen Kairalla, stephen.kairalla@fiu.edu, elected 202
Landscape Arch: Linda Chamorro, lchamorr@fiu.edu,  elected 2020
Music: Vindhya Kharevindhya.khare@fiu.edu, elected 2019
Theater: Rebecca Covey, rcovey@fiu.edu, elected 2020co-chair

CARTA T&P Committee:

Architecture: Shahin Vassighsvassigh@fiu.eduelected 2020
Art & Art History: Benjamin Bellas, bzellmer@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Communication: David Park, djpark@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Interior Arch: Newton D Souza, ndsouza@fiu.edu re-elected 2021
Journalism: Leonardo Ferrerira, Leonardo.Ferrerira@fiu.edu elected 2022
Landscape Arch: Juan Antonio Bueno, buenoj@fiu.edure-elected 2021
Music: Gary Campbell, campbelg@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Theater: Lesley-Ann Timlick, timlickl@fiu.edu, elected 2021

CARTA Awards Committee – Ad hoc

Established in 2015 to administer the CARTA Faculty Awards process, review applicants, and select winners. Committee started 2015

Architecture: Eric Goldemberg, goldembe@fiu.edu, elected 2022
Art & Art History: Pip Brant, brantp@fiu.edu, elected 2020
Communication: Margo Berman, bermanm@fiu.edure-elected 2020
Interior Arch: Phillip Abbott, pabbott@fiu.edu
Journalism: Neil Reisner, reisnern@fiu.edu, elected 2019
Landscape Arch: Ebru Ozer, eozer@fiu.edu re-elected 2020
Music: Mezut Ozgen, mozgen@fiu.edu elected 2020
Theater: Michael Yawney, michael.yawney@fiu.edu re-elected 2020