Advising2022-02-16T19:56:29-05:00

The Herbert and Nicole Wertheim School of Music & Performing Arts has an advising team that is here to help students with all of our programs. Prior to each registration period, incoming and continuing music majors are placed on an advising hold until they have met with their academic advisor, who will work with students to plan their schedule for the upcoming semester, process any necessary course permissions, and refer students to the appropriate faculty member if more specialized advisement or course placement is needed. You should meet with you advisor every semester.

Our advising team will:

  • Help you plan effectively
  • Work with you to identify goals and develop educational plans to reach them
  • Assist you with academic issues and help you find solutions
  • Help you understand degree requirements
  • Work with you to select and schedule your courses

Undergraduate Students

Our academic advisors are available to provide guidance as students work towards realizing both personal and professional goals. All students accepted into a degree program in the School of Music are assigned an advisor based on their major degree program.

jessica diaz

jessica diaz

Jessica Amores Diaz
Academic Advisor
jamores@fiu.edu
305-348-2442

Advisors By Music Degree Programs:

OrlandoinFrostART2smallerComposition

Orlando Jacinto Garcia, D.M.A.
garciao@fiu.edu
305-535-2617
Office Location: Mana-Wynwood – FIU

Choral Conducting

Erynn Millard, Ph.D.
erynn.millard@fiu.edu
305-348-3359
Office Location: WPAC 144A

Brenton-AlstonInstrumental Conducting

Brenton F. Alston, D.M.A.
bralston@fiu.edu
305-348-2497
Office Location: WPAC 143B

Orchestral Conducting

Javier Jose Mendoza, D.M.A.
javier.mendoza@fiu.edu
305-348-2896
Office Location: WPAC 143B

Jazz Performance

Jamie Ousley, D.M.A.
lousley@fiu.edu
305-348-1605
Office Location: 144c

Music Business

Karen S. F. Veloz, Ph.D.
fullerk@fiu.edu
305-348-2896
Office Location:141

Music Education

Jacob Berglin, Ph.D.
jacob.berglin@fiu.edu
305-348-7252
Office Location:145B

jacobsudolMusic Technology

Dr. Jacob Sudol, Ph.D.
jacob.sudol@fiu.edu
305-348-0109
Office Location: WPAC 169

joselopezPiano and Organ Performance

José López, Ph.D.
lopezjr@fiu.edu
305-348-3697
Office Location: WPAC 143B

Instrumental Performance, Strings Studio

Marcia Littley
mlittley@fiu.edu
Office Location: 147A

Instrumental Performance, Guitar Studio

Mesut Ozgen, D.M.A.
mozgen@fiu.edu
305-348-7646
Office Location: 156A

barrybernhardtWinds, Brass, & Percussion Performance/Marching Band

Barry Bernhardt
barry.bernhardt@fiu.edu
305-348-1547
Office Location: WPAC 155B

Vocal Performance

Vindhya Khare, D.M.A. 
vindhya.khare@fiu.edu
305-348-4915
Office Location: 146A

Graduate Students

Our academic advisors are available to provide guidance as students work towards realizing both personal and professional goals. All students accepted into a degree program in the School of Music are assigned an advisor based on their major degree program.

galand-150x150-1Joel Galand, Ph.D.
Graduate Advisor
galandj@fiu.edu
305-348-7078
Office Location: WPAC 152A

Advisors By Music Degree Programs:

OrlandoinFrostART2smallerComposition

Orlando Jacinto Garcia, D.M.A.
garciao@fiu.edu
305-535-2617
Office Location: Mana Wynwood – FIU

Choral Conducting

Erynn Millard, Ph.D.
erynn.millard@fiu.edu
305-348-3359
Office Location: WPAC 144A

Brenton-AlstonInstrumental Conducting

Brenton F. Alston, D.M.A.
bralston@fiu.edu
305-348-2497
Office Location: WPAC 143B

Orchestral Conducting

Javier Jose Mendoza, D.M.A.
javier.mendoza@fiu.edu
305-348-3587
Office Location: WPAC 143B

Jazz Performance

Jamie Ousley, D.M.A.
lousley@fiu.edu
305-348-1605
Office Location:144c

Music Business

Karen S. F. Veloz, Ph.D.
fullerk@fiu.edu
305-348-2896
Office Location: 141

Music Education

Sandra Sanchez Adorno, Ph.D.
sadorno@fiu.edu
305-348-7252
Office Location: 145C

jacobsudolMusic Technology

Jacob Sudol, Ph.D.
jacob.sudol@gmail.com
305-348-0109
Office Location: WPAC 169

joselopezPiano and Organ Performance

José López, Ph.D.
lopezjr@fiu.edu
305-348-3697
Office Location: WPAC 143B

Instrumental Performance, Strings Studio

Marcia Littley
mlittley@fiu.edu
Office Location: 147A

Instrumental Performance, Guitar Studio

Mesut Ozgen, D.M.A.
mozgen@fiu.edu
305-348-7646
Office Location: 156A

barrybernhardtWinds, Brass, & Percussion Performance/Marching Band

Barry Bernhardt
barry.bernhardt@fiu.edu
305-348-1547
Office Location: WPAC 155B

Vocal Performance

Vindhya Khare, D.M.A.
vindhya.khare@fiu.edu
305-348-4915
Office Location: 146A