Advising2024-07-16T12:18:53-04:00

Advising

From Orientation to Graduation, The Herbert and Nicole Wertheim School of Music & Performing Arts is committed to your success. Navigating your college career can be daunting, but you are not alone. Our professional advisors are continually developing strategies that contribute to your success. For your convenience, both in-person and remote advising sessions are offered. Your advisor is committed to providing guidance every step of the way.

To increase accessibility to our Academic Advisors, we will continue to offer Drop-In advising for Spring 2024 Semester.

NOTE: Graduate students please contact Joel Galand directly – galandj@fiu.edu

(In Person or Remote)
(In Person or Remote)

Schedule an Appointment

To contact your advisor:

  1. Go to go.fiu.edu/psn
  2. Login using your MyFIU credentials (if necessary)
  3. Click on “Make Appointment” banner on right hand side
    1.  Use go.fiu.edu/JessicaZOOM for virtual and drop-in appointments.

1:1 Drop-In Summer 2024 Advising Schedule

Jessica Summer 2024 Drop in Schedule

Use go.fiu.edu/JessicaZOOM  for drop-in appointments

Meet Your Advisors

jessica diaz

Undergraduate Students

Jessica Amores Diaz
Academic Advisor
jamores@fiu.edu
305-348-2442
Office Location: WPAC 152A

Graduate Students

Joel Galand, Ph.D.
Graduate Advisor
galandj@fiu.edu
305-348-7078
Office Location: WPAC 146C

Tutoring and Support Services

FAQs

Your Advisor will notify you through PSN if their drop-in schedule changes or if their regular drop-in hours differ from those listed above. Please continue to check Panther Success Network (PSN) for Advising updates.

Drop-ins should primarily be used for quick and/or urgent issues (15-20 minutes maximum). Longer meetings and those requiring your advisor to conduct additional research are best scheduled in advance and with an appointment.

Drop-in availability will be first-come, first-served and end promptly at 4:00 PM on M, Tu, W, and 12:00 PM on Th, F. While we will do our best to see all students who arrive during drop-in hours, we cannot guarantee that all students will be seen. For guaranteed availability, we recommend scheduling an appointment with your Advisor through PSN.

Students will meet with their assigned Advisor during drop-in hours.

Faculty Member Area Coordinator

Composition

Orlando Jacinto Garcia, D.M.A.
garciao@fiu.edu
305-535-2617
Office Location: Mana Wynwood – FIU

erynnmillard 150x150

Choral Conducting (Graduate Degree)

Erynn Millard, Ph.D.
erynn.millard@fiu.edu
305-348-3359
Office Location: WPAC 144A

Instrumental Conducting (Graduate Degree)

Brenton F. Alston, D.M.A.
bralston@fiu.edu
305-348-2497
Office Location: WPAC 143B

Orchestral Conducting (Graduate Degree)

Javier Jose Mendoza, D.M.A.
javier.mendoza@fiu.edu
305-348-3587
Office Location: WPAC 143B

Jazz Performance

Jamie Ousley, D.M.A.
lousley@fiu.edu
305-348-1605
Office Location:144c

Music Business

Karen S. F. Veloz, Ph.D.
fullerk@fiu.edu
305-348-2896
Office Location: 141

Music Education

Sandra Sanchez Adorno, Ph.D.
sadorno@fiu.edu
305-348-7252
Office Location: 145C

Music Technology

Jacob Sudol, Ph.D.
jacob.sudol@gmail.com
305-348-0109
Office Location: WPAC 169

Piano and Organ Performance

José López, Ph.D.
lopezjr@fiu.edu
305-348-3697
Office Location: WPAC 143B

avi nagin croppe

Instrumental Performance, Strings Studio

Avi Nagin
avi.nagin@fiu.edu
Office Location: 152B

Mesut Headshot 3

Instrumental Performance, Guitar Studio

Mesut Ozgen, D.M.A.
mozgen@fiu.edu
305-348-7646
Office Location: 156A

Winds, Brass, & Percussion Performance/Marching Band

Barry Bernhardt
barry.bernhardt@fiu.edu
305-348-1547
Office Location: WPAC 155B

khare

Vocal Performance

Vindhya Khare, D.M.A.
vindhya.khare@fiu.edu
305-348-4915
Office Location: 146A

stephannie moore

Musical Theatre

Stephannie Moore, D.M.A.
stemoore@fiu.edu
305-348-2896
Office Location: 151A