CARTA Faculty Assembly Meeting Thursday, March 28, 2024, 3:30p.m

Zoom link:

https://fiu.zoom.us/j/93366940716?pwd=MW00QnVBNUc3eEFRaXIzakdCMTNEUT09 Meeting ID: 933 6694 0716 - Passcode: CARTA2

Attendance List: No Quorum

Dean's Office	
Brian Schriner, Dean	Journalism
Marilys Nepomechie, Associate Dean	Teresa Ponte (Assembly Co-chair)
John A. Stuart, Associate Dean	Neil Reisner
Robert Brown	Charles Strouse
	Leonardo Ferreira
Architecture	Susan Jacobson (Chair, Non-voting)
Gray Read	Luis Alberto Gonzalez
Kate Balug	
Jaime Canaves	Landscape Architecture
	Ebru Ozer
Art & Art History	
Lidu Yi	Music
Fereshteh Toosi	Mesut Özgen (Assembly Co-chair)
	David Dolata
Communication	Marcia Littley
Mihaela Plugarasu	Vindhya Khare
Margo Berman	Javier Mendoza
Rokeshia Ashley	Sandra Adorno
	Theater
Interior Architecture	Joel Murray (Chair, Non-voting)
	Jennifer Ivey
	Anthony Galaska
	Ivan Lopez
Guest	Chris Goslin
	Jeff Burleson
Vanessa Sohan, UFF-FIU Vice-President	
Kalai Mathee, College of Medicine	

Minutes

Meeting commenced at 3:22 pm

- Approval of minutes from last meeting on October 26, 2023 (attached).
- Dean's Report
 - CARTA has 5 long time colleagues retiring either at the end of Spring or Summer:
 - o Bill McGuire, Art and Art History
 - Gary Campbell, Music
 - Margo Berman, Communication
 - Barry Bernhardt, Music
 - Gray Read, Architecture
 - Dr. Sigal Segev, School of Communication was elected President of the American Advertising Academy.
 - Performance Funding Metrics
 - o 94% Student Retention Rate
 - o 77% 6-year graduation
 - \$12.5 million raised in philanthropy.
 - 82% transfer graduation
 - All CARTA programs were ranked by ranking organizations the University recognizes as peer reviewed. All were ranked in the top 50.
 - School of Architecture, 3 years in a row ranked in the top 20.
 - 95% faculty and staff participation rate in Ignite.
- Faculty Senate Report, Neil Reisner
 - Board of Governors came out with a statement on free Expression and asked university senates to endorse. Few have, FIU will revisit the request in June. There are concerns about restrictions on academic freedom.
 - Board of Governors request to review the core curriculum. One change, Principles of Sociology is no longer part of the core curriculum.
 - Re the Adam Smith Center for Economic Freedom. One of several Centers established by Gov. Ron DeSantis. The one at FIU is "nonpartisan" and "apolitical" and conservative. Its Director, Carlos Diaz Rosillo, was Director of Public Policy at the White House under President Donald Trump.
 - The Faculty Senate, the UFF, and FIU administration worked to minimize the impact of new DEI regulations. The office of DEI at FIU, no longer exists.
 - Faculty Senator Jaime Canaves added to this report by reporting that Athletic Director Scott Carr addressed the Faculty Senate and asked for

faculty support at athletic events and emphasized that the swimming teams are doing extremely well and earning recognition.

- United Faculty of Florida FIU Chapter Report, Vanessa Sohan, UFF/FIU Vice-President
 - Membership: the union reached the 60% threshold and are waiting for recertification. The membership official is Tania Lopez <<u>tania.lopez@uff-fiu.org</u>>
 - Involved in Big Book Bargaining with FIU administration on 3 core areas: Salary (compression and inversion issues and cost of living and housing issues). Equity (strengthening language supporting equity in the CBA, including issues of annual assignment and differential assignment policies plus overload compensation rates). Academic Freedom (working with administration on issues related to policies and procedures of post tenure review that support faculty.
- CARTA Faculty Award Winners
 - Research Award: Dr. Rokeshia Ashley, School of Communication
 - Teaching Award: Dr. Silvia Marquez Pease, Department of Art + Art History
 - Teaching Award: Jennifer Rose Ivey, Department of Theater
 - Service Award: Dr. Alice Gray Read, School of Architecture
- CARTA Assembly Co-Chair Mesut Özgen on positions available in the Faculty Senate and various University Committees.
- Since there is no quorum, an electronic ballot is sent to the voting members of the assembly for electing CARTA Senators and University Committee Representatives
 - Faculty Senate 4 positions (two-year term) Nominees:
 - Jaime Canaves, Architecture
 - Neil Reisner, Journalism
 - Marcia Littley, Music
 - Anthony Galaska, Theatre
 - Faculty Senate Alternate 2 positions (one-year term) Nominees:
 - Nathan Kurland, Communication
 - Nominee: _____
 - Academic Policies and Personnel Committee (two-year term) -
 - Nominee: ____
 - Graduate Council (two-year term) Nominees:
 - Nominee: Neil Leach, Architecture
 - Curriculum Committee 2 positions (two -year term) Nominees:
 - Co-chair Vindhya Khare, Music
 - Co-chair Nathalie Desrayaud, Communication
 - Honorary Degree and Awards Committee (two -year term)
 - Nominee: Elizabeth Marsh, Communication
 - Sabbatical Committee (two -year term)

- Nominee: Jacob Sudol, Music
- Technology Committee (two -year term)
 - Nominee: Federico Bonacossa, Music
- Undergraduate Council (two -year term)
 - Nominee: Mesut Ozgen, Music
- Library Committee (two -year term)
 - Nominee: Jennifer Ivey, Theater
- New Business No new business

Meeting adjourned at 4:16 pm

Respectfully Submitted, Teresa Ponte Co-Chair, CARTA Assembly

P.S. Pending approval in the Fall 2024 Assembly meeting.